Fireblood – Elly Blake – Review

fireblood

Book logo
Synopsis

Against all odds, Ruby has defeated the villainous Frost King and melted his throne of ice. But the bloodthirsty Minax that was trapped inside is now haunting her kingdom and everyone she loves. The answers to its demise may lie to the south in Sudesia, the land of the Firebloods, and a country that holds the secrets to Ruby’s powers and past….

Despite warnings from her beloved Arcus, Ruby accompanies a roguish Fireblood named Kai to Sudesia, where she must master her control of fire in a series of trials to gain the trust of the suspicious Fireblood queen. Only then can she hope to access the knowledge that could defeat the rampaging Minax–which grows closer every moment. But as sparks fly in her moments alone with Kai, how can Ruby decide whom to trust? The fate of both kingdoms is now in her hands.

Book logoMy Rating
★★★★☆

A thrilling sequel to Frostblood, a love triangle, a family secret and rising demons.

Book logoMy Thoughts

So I read Frostblood earlier in the year and I fell completely in love with the world that Elly has created. I was super excited when I received Fireblood early and couldn’t wait to continue Ruby’s story!

I absolutely adore Ruby, after all of the heartbreak that she went through in Frostblood, she has grown so much as a person. I really felt that her character changed from ‘not so sure about herself’ into a fiery young woman. She has uneathered a part of herself that she didn’t know she had, which has made her powers easier to wield. She made a tough emotional decision regarding Arcus and the good of the kingdom and discovered a family secret that I did NOT see coming!

Arcus, ah lovely Arcus is on my list of book crushes! We learnt so much of his past in Frostblood and how utterly harrowing it must have been. He was left crushed, yet he stood tall and pulled the strength out of himself to take his position as the rightful king of the icy kingdom. I feel so sorry for him, he loves Ruby and he loves his kingdom, so how can he rule with a Fireblood by his side, in a place where she is hated?

Ruby has to choose to leave Arcus behind and trust blindly in fellow Fireblood Kai. Trust and loyalty plays a big part in this story, who should she trust? Who is her ally? Elly made Ruby face these problems head on and it was all very emotional and heartbreaking to read!

I have to say that I absolutely HATE love triangles with a passion! I’m a very loyal person and just do not like reading about tangled love. That being said, I think there was only a minor discrepancy and Ruby is pushed right into making a decision and proving where her loyalties really lie.

I do love Kai though, he’s very sure of himself and knows what he wants. He’s like the class clown, always cracking jokes and teasing Ruby to no end. But he’s no match for Arcus ..no no.

I profusely enjoyed Fireblood and applaud Elly for making me want MORE yet again! I cannot wait for the sequel Nightblood to be released next year.

signature


*I want to thank Netgalley for sending the book my way in return for an honest review*

Elly Blake

19 thoughts on “Fireblood – Elly Blake – Review”

  1. Haha I’m a very loyal person too when it comes to love triangles, squares, etc. so when I heard there was going to be another guy brought into the mix, I was ready to fight him. I really liked Kai but Arcus is the only one for Ruby in my eyes. Fantastic review as always! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: IRL Book Tag!

Leave a Reply

