Wormwood – D.H Nevins – Review

final2, take 2.jpg
Book logo
Synopsis 

Against a devastated landscape, a legion of one hundred fierce half-angels is hell bent on purging the Earth of all humans. But one of them, the tormented Tiamat, struggles against his mission, and when he rescues a beautiful woman name Kali, he finds the attraction as troubling as it is dangerous. Can Kali trust the one creature who could be responsible for her ultimate demise?

Book logoMy Rating
★★★★☆

Angels, demons, destruction. The choice between your duty and forbidden love?

Book logoMy Thoughts

I always have trouble knowing where to begin with reviews. Someone once told me to write from the heart. So what do I write when my heart has taken such a beating? God it hurts so much! I didn’t anticipate such a painful experience with Wormwood (the good kind).

I was definitely wary of the book before I went in, the description is pretty vague so you really don’t know what to expect. I have to admit I was a little confused to start with, you really get thrown in at the deep end and it was a lot of imagery to lure you in. Danielle did a brilliant job of building the world around you and really sucked me in, like literal vacuum sucking folks!

Kali was like a kindred spirit for me. She loves nothing more than scouting out her environment and is completely at ease with nature. She is unbelievably strong and has to take a whole lot of sh*t throughout the book, but not once does she curl up into a ball and crumble and I mean I wouldn’t blame her if she did! She fights for what she believes is right and true and is honest with her feelings.

I didn’t warm up to Tiamat quite as easy. He was a little strange from the start and I knew something was off with him from their first encounter. He is such a pain in the proverbial rear throughout the entire book, going to extreme lengths to rub Kali up the wrong way! I seriously HATED him at one point, the point that had me crying – you’ll get it if you read it – like why do that? Why?! He does redeem himself ultimately and everything comes to the surface – I love him now.

I was totally caught off guard so many times, I didn’t know what was real and it completely messed me up for several hours – the back of my phone is still recovering from me flinging it across the room (thanks Danielle)! The author superbly twisted the story for me and I understand that some scenes could possibly upset some people, but they are a necessary evil.

I couldn’t possibly describe in entirety the amount of love that I have for Wormwood and Danielle! I communicated with her numerous times and she is honestly the coolest warmest person, who genuinely wants feedback for her book.

I’m so sad that the sequel is a while off! I NEED it now – can we work on that please Danielle?!

signature


*I want to thank Danielle for sending the book my way in return for an honest review* (you are awesome 😉

D.H Nevins

 

 

 

 

30 thoughts on “Wormwood – D.H Nevins – Review”

  1. I always stare at a blank blog page when I set out to write reviews, but then once I get started, the words just flow, especially if I’m passionate about a book! I love how you opened this review! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Book Blogger Test

Leave a Reply

